Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Countesthorpe Cricket Club app


What happened at the 2018 AGM?

By James Popplewell

Have a read if you didnt make it

After the formalities the Chairman gave his report for the year indicating that things had not been a great year for the Club. Dave remphaised the fact that it takes a small number of people a serious amount of work to keep the Club going and more help was needed to simply spread the load.

The Treasurer then gave his report running through the accounts which have shown that the Club's revenue was steady.However the Club was run at a loss last year and so Dave stressed that we not only need people to help our social committee to plan events (to increase the bar income) but we also need people to help to try and introduce sponsors.

The captains gave their reports with the main issue being the lack of availability and asked players to try and increase this. However, even if they cant then they should update their availability on the app as this would make life much easier for the captains.

Barry's report confirmed that the junior set up was looking very good and that the Club still have a number of talented and enthusiastic kids on the books. We have one of the biggest junior set ups in the county with around 100 juniors and a number of our teams reached the knock out stages of county competitions. Barry thanked those involved but announced that he would be stepping down once a replacement junior coordinator was found.

The Club Officers were then appointed as follows:

President: John Dupey
Chairman: Dave Smith
Secretary: Ollie Nelson
Treasurer: Mark Cunnold
First Team Captain: Joe Thorpe
Second Team Captain: Rich Looms
Third Team Captain: Ollie Nelson
Fourth Team Captain: James Popplewell
Mid Week Captain: VACANT
Sunday Captain: VACANT
Ladies Captain: Verity Popplewell
Junior Coordinator: Barry Hibberd UNTIL REPLACEMENT
Management Committee Member: James Popplewell
Management Committee Member: Tony Kilsby
Management Committee Member: Verity Popplewell
Management Committee Member: Terry Swingler
Management Committee Member: Simon Page

Dave proposed to appoint two new life members, which was unanmously agreed. These were Graham Popplewell and Richard Holdridge.

It was proposed (despite the difficutl financial position) to leave the annual subscriptions and the match fees unaltered, which was apprived by the meeting.

Two points of AOB was raised. One regarding help with social events from Michael Megginson and then other was regarding a Club survey that will be sent around to try and help the Club move forward and deal with current concerns.

Thank you to those members that turned out to attend the AGM.

Updated 13:48 - 14 Nov 2018 by James Popplewell

Where next?

Womens Midlands League Niffy ladies make history..
Can YOU spare five minutes.... Please complete a survey to help YOUR Club!


Loading comments

Sat 20 Apr
First Team Sileby Town 2
League 13:00
Second Team Leicester Banks 2
League 13:00
League 13:00
Sat 27 Apr
First Team Ashby Hastings
League 13:00
Second Team Leicester Caribbean 2
League 13:00
League 13:00


Club sponsors